California Wage and Hour Violations Lawyers
Dedicated to protecting your future
Wage and hour laws protect employees from unfair hiring and wage payment practices by employers. Unfortunately, many employees do not know their rights or how to pursue action against an employer whose hourly rates and policies go against wage and hour laws.
The predicament of those victimized by wage and hour violations
If you try to resolve a wage and hour dispute by going directly to your employer who is knowingly breaking the law, you may endanger your employment. But if you instead go directly to a government agency to complain, you may be defeated by the confusing rules and the mind-numbing bureaucracy. Those who try often give up or are frustrated with the results. Wage and hour laws can be complicated to understand, and even more complicated to leverage to your advantage without the assistance of an experienced labor and employment law attorney.
Understanding wage labor laws
While wage and hour laws make it difficult for you to go it alone without legal representation, the good news is that:
- Our wage and hour attorneys in California work on a contingency fee basis on most cases. This means that you do not pay for our services unless and until we win you a settlement or court-ordered award.
- California labor laws often favor the employee, as the following examples show:
State mandated overtime pay
Under CA Labor Code Section 510(a), eight hours of labor constitutes a day’s work. Wage overtime laws dictate that any work you do in excess of eight hours in one workday and any work in excess of 40 hours in one workweek is to be compensated at one and one-half times the regular rate of pay. California labor law also requires that work in excess of 12 hours in one day must be compensated at twice the regular rate of pay.
Work breaks in California
Under CA Labor Code Section 512(a), an employer may not work you more than five hours without providing a meal period of at least 30 minutes, unless the total work period is no more than six hours. Under California wage and hour law, an employer may not work you more than ten hours per day without providing a second meal break of at least 30 minutes.
A day of rest in CA
CA Labor Code Section 551 mandates that employees must be allowed a day off in any seven-day work period.
Identifying wage and hour violations
When you have a wage and hour dispute with your employer, talk with Aiman-Smith & Marcy’s California labor and employment lawyers. We can advise you how to resolve your situation and offer legal representation when your wage and hour lawsuit appears to be legally actionable. There is no charge for a consultation with a California wage and hour lawyer from Aiman-Smith & Marcy.
When you are not being fairly compensated for your work or not being fairly treated in the workplace, our attorneys may be able to provide a legal resolution to your problem.
Contact a wage and hour attorney in California
Please call Aiman-Smith & Marcy for help with unpaid wages, overtime laws, and prevailing wages. Our practice is dedicated to upholding your right to fair compensation. If you have been a victim of wage and hour violations, please call our office at 510-817-2711 or contact us online for a free consultation with one of our attorneys, Randall Aiman-Smith, Reed Marcy or Hallie Von Rock. Our office is located near the Oakland Coliseum off Highway 880, 66th Avenue exit. We welcome the opportunity to review and discuss your legal concerns.